Home > Raku Museum > Exhibitions

Exhibitions

40th Anniversary of the Raku Museum
Autumn Special Exhibition

Kōetsu Kō - Thoughts on Kōetsu
Sunday 2 September – Sunday 9 December 2018

Hon’ami Kōetsu was granted a land in the place called Takagamine, northwest of Kyoto where he cultivated at his leisure a refined aesthetic taste pursued within the world of tea ceremony, calligraphy and ceramic making. All the Raku tea bowls he produced there were the outcome of his friendship with Raku Jōkei II and his son Dōnyū III, who helped him to let them fired in the Raku family kiln.
This exhibition, curated by Raku Kichizaemon XV for whom Kōetsu’s art and his spirit behind it have long been a source of inspiration for his own work, highlights a main selection of tea bowls by Kōetsu surrounded by some related works made by his contemporaries, Jōkei and Dōnyū. The exhibition is based on the texts and points of argument provided by Raku Kichizaemon in his book entitled Kōetsu Kō (published in February 2018) which he spent three years to finish.
The exhibition will shed a new light on Kōetsu’s work and his art viewed from the fresh perspective given by the current head reinforced by his passion long cherished towards this genius.

Works on Display
Closed: Mondays (except National Holidays)
Admission: Adults ¥1000
University Students ¥800
High School Students ¥400
Under Juniour High School free admission

A talk by Raku Kichizaemon XV is programmed on the following dates:
Thursday 6 Sept, Saturday 29 Sept, Friday 5 Oct, Friday 12 Oct, Sunday 28 Oct, Friday 2 Nov, Friday 9 Nov , Friday 30 Nov and Friday 7 Dec 2018
Time: 17:00 – 18:30 for each session
Tickets: ¥3,000 inclusive of the museum admission

Telephone booking will be open from Wednesday 1 August.

page top